On Sept. 5, 1882, Minnesota Brush Electric Company produced power in downtown Minneapolis. The St. Anthony (or Hennepin Island) hydro plant on the Mississippi River was BUILT FOR ELECTRIC POWER IN 1882 and is STILL OPERATING TODAY, owned by Xcel Energy.

Minnesota is known as the “LAND OF 10,000 LAKES” (but there are actually more like 12,000). Minneapolis means “City of Lakes.”

Minneapolis owes much of its growth to the MISSISSIPPI RIVER, which helped power the city’s mills.
WINNIPEG is Minneapolis’s sister city and Minnesota borders the Canadian provinces of MANITOBA and ONTARIO.

Many Companies with Ties to Hydroelectric Power have Offices in Minneapolis. These include:

  • Xcel Energy, based in Minneapolis, owns 26 HYDROPOWER PLANTS with a summer net dependable capacity of 377 MW. Total summer net dependable capacity of all its generating plants in 17, 020 MW.
  • The University of Minnesota’s St. Anthony Falls Laboratory is an INTERDISCIPLINARY FLUID MECHANICS RESEARCH and EDUCATIONAL FACILITY of the College of Science and Engineering.
  • Minneapolis-based Barr Engineering provides engineering and environmental consulting services to CLIENTS AROUND THE WORLD.
  • Consulting company HDR is based in Omaha but has OFFICES IN BOTH MINNEAPOLIS and ST. PAUL.
  • Mead & Hunt: has an office in Bloomington, MN
  • Ames Construction: based in Burnsville, MN
  • DeZurik Apco Hilton: based in Sartell, MN
  • Kato Engineering/Nidec Corporation: based in Mankato, MN
  • PaR Systems: based in Shoreview, MN
Hydro in Minneapolis

Operating Hydropower Sites in Minnesota

Owner Dam Name County River Capacity
Minnesota Power Blanchard Morrison Mississippi 18.0
Minnesota Power Fond Du Lac Carlton St. Louis 12.0
Minnesota Power Knife Falls Cartol St. Louis 2.4
Minnesota Power Little Falls Morrison Mississippi 4.7
Minnesota Power Pillager Morrison Crow Wing 1.5
Minnesota Power Praire River Itasca Prairie River 1.1
Minnesota Power Scanion Carlton St. Louis 1.6
Minnesota Power Sylvan Cass Crow Wing 1.8
Minnesota Power Thomson Carlton St. Louis 69.6
Minnesota Power Winton Lake Kawishiwi 4.0
Minnesota Power Rapids Energy Center Itasca Mississippi 2.1
NSP/Xcel Energy St. Anthony Hennepin Mississippi 14.2
Ottertail Power* Bemidji Beltrami Mississippi 0.7
Ottertail Power Central Otter Tail Otter Tail 0.4
Ottertail Power Dayton Hollow Otter Tail Otter Tail 1.0
Ottertail Power Friberg Otter Tail Otter Tail 0.6
Ottertail Power Hoot Lake Otter Tail Otter Tail 1.0
Ottertail Power Pisgah Otter Tail Otter Tail 0.6
Intl. Falls Power Intl. Falls Koochiching Rainy 14.4
Sappi Cloquet Cloquet Carlton St. Louis 6.5
Twin Cities Hydro Ford Dam Hennepin Mississippi 17.9
SAF Hydroelectric Lower St. Anthony Falls Hennepin Mississippi 9.0
Eagle Creek Renewable
Sartell Stearns Mississippi 9.5
Granite Falls Granite Falls Yellow Med. Minnesota 1.2
Hastings Lock & Dam #2 Dakota Mississippi 4.4
Lanesboro* Lanesboro Fillmore Root 0.1
Redwood Falls* Redwood Falls Redwood Redwood 0.6
Rochester* Zumbro Wabasha Zumbro 2.3
City of Brainerd Brainerd Crow Wing Mississippi 3.3
St. Cloud St. Cloud Stearns Mississippi 8.9
Thief River Falls Municipal Power Dam Pennington Red Lake 0.6
Rapidan Redevelopment Rapidan Blue Earth Blue Earth 5.0
Dakota Co. Electric Coop Lake Byllesby Dakota Cannon 1.8